Mohs‘ hardness scale [German version]

Mohs‘ hardness scale classifies the hardness of minerals, metals and other products into 10 levels. In the following list, each successive mineral scratches the preceding one and is scratched by the following one:

  1 Talcum
  2 Gypsum (or rock salt, finger nail)
  3 Calcite (or copper)
  4 Fluorite (or iron)
  5 Apatite (or cobalt)
  6 Orthoclase (or rhodium, silicon, tungsten)
  7 Quartz
  8 Topaz (or chromium, hardened steel)
  9 Corundum (sapphire)
  10 Diamond

Back to beginning